Local Winners at GOJHL Award Banquet

Sean Myers of the Chatham Maroons - CKSN.ca File Photo

Sean Myers and Hunter Johnson of the Chatham Maroons, and Brett Hope of the St. Thomas Stars took home hardware last night at the GOJHL Western Conference award ceremony, held at Club Lentinas in Chatham.

Sean Myers, the Maroons captain and leading scorer this season won the Chester Pegg Memorial Award for outstanding ability and sportsmanship.

Brett Hope, a Blenheim product, and the captain of the St. Thomas Stars, was named the league’s best defensive forward.

Hunter Johnson, who stole the starting role in Chatham this season from Connor MacKinnon, was named the goaltender on the GOJHL Western Conference All-Rookie team.

Hope, who is a former Chatham Maroons player, wasn’t just a defensive threat this season. In fact, he scored a career high 44-points this season, one year removed from helping his team to the Sutherland Cup final. Much like his brother Kyle Hope has down this season and last in the OHL, Brett also made the transition between the blueline and forward several times this season.

Myers, who is eligible to return to the Maroons next year as a 20-year-old, scored 61 points this season for the Maroons, including 23 goals.

Share This


Wordpress (0)