Wallaceburg Sports Hall of Fame Announces Inductees

Clint Lamarsh of the Wallaceburg Red Devils – CKSN.ca File Photo

The Wallaceburg Sports Hall of Fame has announced their 2013 inductees who will be honoured January 26.

Deanna Kerkhof, a senior at Northeastern University, was named Basketball Ontario’s female baller of the year, and is currently averaging more than 16-points per game for the NCAA’s Huskies. She will be honoured as the athlete of the year.

For outstanding achievement, Wallaceburg Red Devils standouts Clint Lamarsh and Rob Pollock will share the honour. Pollock led all Red Devils in scoring this past season with 103 points, while Lamarsh was the team’s top goal scorer with 53 goals, and 85 points.

CKXS FM 99.1 will be honoured as the builder of the year. The local radio station broadcasts Wallaceburg Lakers and Dresden Kings hockey, as well as Wallaceburg Red Devils games live, and also hosts “That’s Sports” each Monday.

Kurtis Lubbers will be honoured as the coach of the year after leading the Wallaceburg Sting men’s soccer team to a first place finish in the WOSL First Division, prompting a promotion for the team to the Premier Division next season.

Finally, Erin Sarapnickas will receive the Ray Aarssen/Sports Hall of Fame Scholarship. Sarapnickas, a WDSS graduate, is currently studying kinesiology and playing varsity basketball at York University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.