Chatham Hall Announces 2014 Inductees

Chatham-Sports-Hall-of-Fame-LogoThe Board of Directors of the Chatham Sports Hall of Fame has announced the 2014 inductees into the Hall. As a result of voting by 107 of the 154 eligible members, the following will become Honoured Members of the Hall of Fame.

  • Athlete ­ Modern: ­ Courtney Babcock ­ – distance runner
  • Athlete ­ Legend: ­ Ed Wright ­ – hockey player
  • Builder: ­ Ron Coristine -­ high school and minor sports coach
  • Team: ­ 1977­-78 Chatham Royals Intermediate “C” Hockey

In addition, Shirley Pilson (Athlete ­ Legend) will be inducted as a Directors’ Choice. This recognition is given to an individual who has an outstanding resume and has appeared on the ballot at least once. Shirley has certainly fulfilled these requirements and will be inducted with the recognitions, rights and privileges of all Honoured Members.

“The Board congratulates all five of these new inductees as well as the other individuals and teams who were nominated, especially those whose names appeared on the ballot,” wrote the Chatham Sports Hall of Fame in the release.

The Annual Dinner and Induction Ceremony will take place on Thursday, September 11, 2014 at the WISH Centre. Tickets for the dinner will go on sale on August 1st and may be purchased from any of the directors, specifically Jay Teetzel (519­354­2333), or at the WISH Centre. The cost is $40.00 for adults and $20.00 for children under 10.

Share This


Wordpress (1)
  • comment-avatar
    William 5 years

    Congrats to 77/78 Royal team members, Randy Aiken, Brian Allin, Wayne Anderson,Peter Badour, Kent Byrnes, Ross Cook, Wayne Cowell, Steve English, Brent Glasier, Ron Haddock, Chuck Howard, Reg Howard, Brian Legue, Rick Martin, Mike O’Mera, Tom Rogers, Colin Thompson, Randy Trudeau, Dave Vandersluis, Larry Verlinde, Dave Warren, Chris Whiteside, Derek Davenport, Copper Leyte, Cliff Glasier, and Tom McIntosh,