Cobras Snap Up Gold In Michigan

Kent Teksavvy Cobras Hockey

The Kent Teksavvy Minor Atom AA team won the Michigan Ice Hawks Invitational Tournament held in Fraser, Michigan – Contributed Photo

The Kent Teksavvy Minor Atom AA team won the Michigan Ice Hawks Invitational Tournament held in Fraser, Michigan this past weekend from September 13th and 14th.

Declan Waddick paced the Cobras over the weekend, and was named to the All-Tournament Team.

In the championship game, facing the Michigan Rangers, who play out of Birmingham, Michigan, the Kent Cobras took a 9-2 win to capture the tournament title. Waddick had a huge game, scoring 5 goals, while Daniel Norton also had a multi-goal game, scoring twice. Andrew Goulet chipped in with a goal and two assists, while Ryder Polowick rounded out the scoring.

To open the tournament, Kent defeated the Michigan Ice Hawks in a lopsided 13-1 decision. Waddick had 2 goals and 2 assists, while Braden Twigg had a four point game of his own, contributing 1 goal and 3 assists.

Austin Drew scored 2 goals, Polowick 2 goals and an assist, and Norton also had a pair of goals. Also hitting the scoresheet for the Cobras were Harrison Oickle (1 goal, 1 assist), Karter Koopmans (2 assists), Aidan Wheeler (2 assists), Ryan Holly (1 goal, 1 assist), Logan Houle (1 goal), and Ethan Waddick (1 goal)

Facing the Michigan Rattlers from Rochester in game two, the Cobras had their toughest game of the tournament, edging out a 4-3 win. Waddick again led the way, scoring a hat trick, while Norton had the other Kent goal. Logan Houle and Ben Church chipped in with assists in the win.

In their third and final game before the championship, Kent routed the Michigan Saints, who play out of St. Clair Shores, 14-0.

Ryder Polowick had a hat trick, while Aidan Wheeler, Daniel Norton, Declan Waddick, and Ryan Holly each had a pair. Braden Twigg, Logan Houle, and Austin Drew each had singles, while Harrison Oickle and Brenden McKay had assists.

Carson Nogueira took the shutout against the Saints, splitting time in the tournament with Jacob Vancoillie, who took the win in the championship game.

Pictured Above – Front Row: (Goalies) Jacob Vancoillie, Carson Nogueira. 2nd Row: Ben Church, Logan Houle, Andrew Goulet, Maclean Norris, Declan Waddick. 3rd Row: Braden Twigg, Harrison Oickle, Daniel Norton, Austin Drew, Ethan Waddick, Ryan Holly, Aidan Wheeler, Ryder Polowick, Karter Koopmans, Brenden McKay. Back Row: Coaches Brad Twigg, Ryan Goulet, Greg Drew, Scott Norris, Jaymee Houle.

Share This


Wordpress (0)