Late Models To Honour Gotelaer At Buxton

Dale Glassford - South Buxton Raceway

Dale Glassford with the Gotelear family at last season’s Gotelaer Memorial race – Photo by James MacDonald/ Apex One Photo

The Westside Performance UMP Late Models will compete in a memorial race for a South Buxton Raceway hall of fame member for the second straight week this Saturday night.

The Late Models will honour Gord Gotelaer, a member of the track’s inaugural hall of fame induction class of 2014.
The Ridgetown native, a championship driver at South Buxton and the former Ridge Raceway, died on May 19, 2013, at the age of 76.

Ridgetown’s Dale Glassford won last year’s first Gotelaer memorial and is the man to beat again this Saturday as the reigning series champion has won all five feature races this season including last week’s annual Don Hendricks memorial. Hendricks was also a member of the 2014 induction group.

Glassford takes a commanding 74-point lead over Chatham’s Jim Jones and 78-point edge over Chatham’s Brad Authier into Saturday’s action.

Leamington’s Joel Dick is also riding a hot streak with four straight feature wins in the Schinkels Gourmet Meats UMP Modified division standings.

Dick, the defending series champion, has a 19-point lead over Belle River’s Mario Toniolo, who finished second in the last two features.

Kyle Hope is still looking for his first feature win in the Tirecraft Mini-Mods but five straight finishes of fourth or better has the Blenheim driver on top of the standings.

Kingsville’s Dylan Wolters, 15, on the strength of a feature and three heat-race wins over the last three race nights, sits second, 46 points behind Hope.

The hottest driver in the Mini-Mods is Cottam’s Rob Quick, who is tied for third with Essex’s Tom Reimer despite missing opening night.

Quick has two wins and a second-place finish to Wolters in the last three race nights.

Kingsville’s Rob Young is atop the Tirecraft Sport Stocks standings for a fourth straight week, leading Merlin’s Steve Shaw by 52 points. Five different drivers have won features through the first five race nights.

Kingsville’s James Kelly leads Merlin’s Cale Johns, who has won back-to-back features, by 28 points in the AutoTech Bombers.

The grandstand opens at 4:30 p.m. and racing begins at 6:30 p.m.

In case of rain on Saturday, the race program will be rescheduled for Sunday starting at 5 p.m., with the gates opening at 3 p.m.

Check for updates in case of weather issues.

The Southern Ontario Sprints return for their second and final visit on Saturday, July 4.

Share This


Wordpress (0)