Chatham-Kent Concrete Are Team Honourees


The Chatham Sports Hall of Fame will honour the 1970 Team Chatham Kent Concretes as their annual permanent inductee in the “Team” category.

The team was named after its sponsor, Kent Concrete. Many of the players were graduates of Chatham Minor Baseball teams that won Ontario Baseball Association “A” (highest category at the time) championships at every level from pee wee to midget

During the season the Concretes participated in Essex County Senior Baseball League.

In the first round of playoffs they defeated the Oakville Oaks and in the semi-finals defeated Intercounty League Champion London Majors. In the best of 3 finals against Orillia Terriers, the Concretes won the first game 4-0 in Chatham. In the second game, behind the pitching of 18-year-old Dennis McCord and Larry Myers and the hitting of Bob Pearson, Ed Myers, and Larry Myers, the Concretes won 11-8 in Orillia to become OBA Sr. “A” (highest level of competition) Champions. They were the first Chatham Senior Team to win an OBA “A” title.

Team members were Dave Allin, Roy Boyes, Keith Chandler, Jim Corriveau, Larry Franko, Ron Franko, Dale Lahey, Dave Luss, Jack McCart, Dennis McCord, Ed Myers, Larry Myers, Bob Pearson, Arnie Robbins, Brad Robinson, Jim Robertson, Gary Saunders, Bill Twigg, Don Webster, Chirp Morris (coach), Bob Swift (coach).

The Annual Dinner and Induction Ceremony will take place on Thursday, September 15, 2016 at the WISH Centre. Tickets for the dinner will go on sale on August 1st and may be purchased from any of the directors, specifically Jay Teetzel (519-354-2333), or at the WISH Centre. The cost is $40.00 for adults and $20.00 for children under 10.

Share This


Wordpress (0)