Maroons Hand Out Annual Awards

Chatham Maroons awards 2017

The Chatham Maroons 2017 award winners – Contributed Photo

The Chatham Maroons held their year end Awards Banquet Saturday in Tilbury, honouring their top performers from the 2016-2017 GOJHL regular season and playoffs.

Steven Beenackers, Kevin Gursoy, and Alec MacKenzie came home as the most decorated players from the ceremony.

Beenackers, the Maroons captain from last season was named the team’s Most Valuable Player, CMHA Outstanding Graduate, and received the Roy Bruhlman Memorial Award, as the team’s most valuable senior player.

Gursoy was named Chatham’s Rookie of the Year, was the Ron Coristine Award winner for academic achievement in secondary school, and was the team’s playoff leading scorer.

Alec MacKenzie was honoured with the Most Desire and Determination Award, the Jim Torrie Award for leadership, ability, and sportsmanship, and the George Aitkens Award for dedication to the team.

Rookie Braden Henderson was named the Maroons’ Defenseman of the Year, while Blair Derynck was the team’s Most Developed Player.

Austin Thompson won the Brian Wiseman Award as Chatham’s leading regular season scorer.

Honouring postseason performance, Brendan Johnston was named the playoff MVP, while Brendan D’Agostino earned an award for Most Desire and Determination in the Playoffs.

Nolan VandenBoorn was given the Barry Wiseman Memorial Award for academic excellence at the post secondary level.

Finally, Kevin Fisher was given the Szekesy Maroon Award for outstanding representation of the Chatham organization.

Share This


Wordpress (0)