Brooke MacKinnon, Anthony Atkinson Win Jack Parry Award

2017 Jack Parry Award

Brooke MacKinnon and Anthony Atkinson celebrate their 2017 Dr. Jack Parry Award wins – Photo from CKSS Twitter

Brooke MacKinnon and Anthony Atkinson are the 2017 recipients of the Dr. Jack Parry Award, as Chatham-Kent’s top high school student-athletes.

Brooke MacKinnon, a Chatham-Kent Secondary School student, earned an NCAA Division I scholarship to play golf next year at the University of Hartford.

An accomplished athlete in several sports including golf, soccer, badminton, volleyball, and basketball, MacKinnon was also an active volunteer in her school, and was CKSS’ Female Athlete of the Year, and Top Academic Athlete.

Anthony Atkinson, a graduating John McGregor Secondary School student, will compete in track and field next season for the University of Windsor. Atkinson, a thrower, has an OFSAA silver medal on his resume in shot put, and also competed in basketball and volleyball for JMSS.

Both student-athletes had above 90% academic averages.

This marks the third straight year a John McGregor Secondary School student has won the Jack Parry, with Kelton Evans and Ashley Jackson sweeping last year, and Bridget Carleton winning the female award the year prior.

MacKinnon is the first female winner from Chatham-Kent Secondary School since Kailey Houston won the award in 2011. CKSS’ Lee Kucera won the male award in 2015.

Share This


Wordpress (0)