CKSS Hands Out Athletic Awards

CKSS Athletic Awards 2017

CKSS Athletic Awards winners – Photo by

Chatham-Kent Secondary School handed out their annual athletic awards Tuesday night in a ceremony held at the Ed Myers Gymnasium in CKSS.

Winning the senior awards on the evening were Male Athlete of the Year, James Muharrem, and Female Athlete of the Year, Brooke MacKinnon.

Earning the Mark Lindeman Most Sportsmanlike award was Sydney Sabourin and Austin McQuiggan.

The Greg Way Most Dedicated award went to Ally Oulds and Thador Tekhli.

Winning the Joe Garcia Award for excellence in basketball and soccer was Reagan Kellier.

At the Junior and Midget ranks, Drew Koluk was Junior Male Athlete of the Year, while Payton Sabourin was Junior Female Athlete of Year. Rookie Male Athlete of the Year was Adrian Stubberfield, while Rookie Female Athlete of the Year was shared by Camille Blain and Kirby MacKinnon.

Inducted into the James Dean Hall of Fame were CKSS alumnus Christian Bechard (University of Guelph) and Lee Kucera (Dalhousie University).

The school also awarded other memorial awards including the Brandon Markham Cross Country Award to Chase Squire-George, and the Jon McCubbin Memorial award to Jacob Dodman.

CKSS also recognized their nominees for the upcoming Jack Parry Awards, Brooke MacKinnon and Jonesy Kay, and top academic athletes, receiving the Bob Bye Award, in Brooke MacKinnon and Owen Payne.

Share This


Wordpress (0)