Chatham Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2018

The Board of Directors of the Chatham Sports Hall of Fame has announced the 2018 inductees into the Hall. Voting was done by the volunteer, 12-member Selection Committee made up of Honoured Members and former Voting Members of the Hall. 

Athlete – Modern  –  Perry Pappas – hockey player

  • born in Chatham in 1973
  • 1988-89 – at age 14, played Jr. C with Dresden Kings
  • 1989-90 – played Jr. B for Chatham Mic Macs winning Western Jr. B Championship, was drafted in 3rd round by Soo Greyhounds
  • Soo Greyhounds 1990 to 1993 – team won 3 consecutive OHL Championship and played in 3 Memorial Cup tournaments – won Memorial Cup in 1992-93 – was assistant captain in final 2 years
  • University of Western Ontario Mustangs 1993 to 1996 – team won OUAA Championship and competed in CIAU Championship – was assistant captain in final 2 years
  • 1995 – played for Team Canada at Inline World Championship, winning silver medal, was team captain – scored first goal in Team Canada history, ball and stick used was submitted to Hockey Hall of Fame
  • Professional Hockey – 1996 – played in a pre-season game with Vancouver Canucks against San Jose Sharks
  • 1998-2000 – played for Slough Jets in British National League who won BNL Championships both years – in first year was named Jets’ Player of the Year and BNL Players’ Player of the Year – in second was assistant captain – retired from hockey with ACL injury

Athlete – Legend  –  Chris Bourne – figure skater

  • born in Chatham in 1973
  • at age 10 began skating in Chatham with coach, Patti Blondia
  • 1987 – Western Ontario Section Championships – won Gold in Pre Novice Men’s and Gold in Pre Novice Pairs with partner Sherry Ball
  • 1988 – Chris and Sherry moved to Quebec to train at the Brossard Figure Skating Club just outside Montreal – at Quebec Sectionals was in top 3 in Novice Pairs and top 3 in Novice Men’s to advance to Divisionals where again were in top 3in both events qualifying them for Canadian Championship – at Canadians Chris and Sherry were 7th in Novice Pairs and Chris was 13th in Novice Men’s
  • 1989 – again finished in top3 at Quebec Sectionals in both Novice events – at Divisionals they finished in top 3 in Novice Pairs and Chris was 7th in Novice Men’s – qualified for Canadians in Novice Pairs – won Canadian Novice Pairs Gold Medal with partner, Sherry Ball – won Gold Medal in Novice Pairs at International Competition in Germany
  • 1990 – was in top 3at Quebec Sectionals in Junior Men’s – won Gold at Divisionals in Junior Men’s
  • 1991 – won Canadian Junior Men’s Bronze Medal
  • late 1980’s and early 1990’s, competed in seven consecutive National Championships
  • performed professionally as Prince Charming with Disney on Ice
  • performed a lyrical interpretation of O Holy Night in the production of Blades on Stage, which starred, among others, Elvis Stoyko and Chris’s sister, Shae-Lynn Bourne
  • currently, teaches skating at the Granite Club in Toronto

Builder  –  Jerry Pateman – NHL linesman

  • born in The Hague, Netherlands in 1958 – moved to Chatham in 1962
  • played minor hockey in Chatham from novi9ce to midget
  • 1972-74 – refereed CMHA and OMHA games
  • 1974 – began officiating for OHA at all levels of junior hockey
  • 1975-79 – was International Hockey League as linesman
  • 1979-82 – was trainee referee for the NHL doing games in AHL, IHL, and CHL
  • 1982-83- refereed in Memorial Cup games including championship game
  • 1982-95- was NHL linesman for 650 regular season games, 24 playoff games and the    1990-91 NHL all-star game
  • 1995-2001 – refereed United Hockey League and IHL games – 1998 – refereed United    Hockey League all-stars against the Canadian Olympic team
  • 2011-17 – Supervisor of Officials for the East Coast Hockey League

Teams  –  1977-78 Major Midget Hockey

  • won Western Counties Midget Hockey League championship by defeating Riverside in a 6 points series
  • in the OMHA playdowns, defeated Oakridge in the quarterfinals, Stratford in the semi-finals, and then Newmarket in a hard fought, penalty filled final series
  • as OMHA Midget AA Champions, became the first championship team in 12 years for the Chatham Minor Hockey Association
  • team members were Rob Bossence, Jay Brodie, Dave Brown, George Burford, Bill Flavell, Steve Hime, Dave McDonnell, Mike McIntosh, Todd Mifflin, Todd Parker, Brad Paul, Vince Roy, Allen Schnekburger, John Udvari, Jeff Weber, Doug Wright, Charlie McIntosh (coach), Jim Brodie (assistant coach), Lucien Tourlouse (manager), Don Smith (bus driver)

1987-88 Major Pee Wee Hockey

  • won Regional Silverstick Championship Tournament in Watford by defeating Hamilton,  London, and Farnham  – there were 47 Regional Tournaments throughout North America
  • this qualified the team for the North American Silverstick Tournament in Port Huron,  Michigan – played against teams from Wisconsin, New Jersey, and Port Huron and won the prestigious tournament – since then, only one other Chatham team has achieved this
  • won 3 other tournaments, the Chatham Friendship Tournament, the Hamilton Tournament, and the Fraser, Michigan tournament
  • came first in their league to qualify for OMHA playdowns – defeated Sarnia, St. Thomas, and Hamilton, each in 3 straight games, to reach the quarterfinals – eliminated Scarborough in 2 straight games to go to semi-finals – eliminated Stratford in 3 straight games to go to the finals where they defeated Belleville to become OMHA Major Pee Wee AA Champions
  • team members were Mike Baker, Brady Blain, Brad Bossence, Brandon Boyko, Brad Butzer, Ryan Coristine, Mark Eaton, Jeremy Gabriel, Kelly German, David Hamilton, Chris Kendall, Dan Martin, Todd Perrin, Rob Reeve, Shad Smith, Duane Snelgrove, Brad Twigg, Peter Baker (coach), Ron Coristine (manager)

Because the two teams tied in the voting, both teams will be inducted.

The Annual Dinner and Induction Ceremony will take place on Thursday, September 27, 2018 at the WISH Centre. Tickets for the dinner will go on sale on August 1st and may be purchased from any of the directors, specifically Jay Teetzel (519-354-2333), or at the WISH Centre. The cost is $45.00 for adults, $20.00 for children ages 5 to 12, and free for children under age 5.

Officials with the Board say any unsuccessful nominations will remain on file and will automatically be considered in succeeding years. New nominations must be submitted by May 1, 2019 to be eligible for next year’s voting. Nomination forms are available from Mike Murphy (519-352-8698) or online at


Share This


Wordpress (1)
  • comment-avatar
    Bryan Lewis 2 years

    CONGRATULATIONS Jerry. Well deserved! When you read the list of prior honourees, you are fortunate and with pride joining an elite group of individuals and teams. 
       You have offered your services to not only the professional level but the amateur youngsters as well.
    A worthy recipient.