Maroons Hand Out Annual Awards

The Chatham Maroons handed out their annual awards at their year end banquet earlier this week. The Maroons’ top honour of Team MVP was shared this season by starting goalie Darien Ekblad, and top scorer Michael Verboom.

Verboom topped all Chatham scorers this season with 64 points, while Ekblad compiled a 2.96 GAA and .912 save percentage.

After helping his team advance to the Western Conference Final this year, veteran Brennan Feasey was named the playoff MVP and the leading playoff scorer, collecting 10 goals and 11 assists in 17 playoff games.

Thomas Eady and Evan Mascaro were also honoured for their contributions in the playoffs, with Eady winning the award for most desire and determination in the playoffs and Mascaro receiving recognition for his effort, commitment and consistency in the playoffs.

Brayden Hopkins was named the team’s Rookie of the Year after he scored 15 goals and 25 assists in 50 games for Chatham. Steven Szekesy was named the team’s Best Defenceman. Szekesy who was the Western Conference defensive player of the month in February, and selected to play in the Top Prospects and All-Star game this season, had 7 goals and 36 assists in 48 games.

Captain Sean Myers, who is graduating from the Maroons this season, won the award for leadership, ability and sportsmanship. Jake Flegel, another Maroon who will be moving on, won the award for dedication, while Connor Doran was awarded for most desire and determination.

Blenheim’s Blayne Oliver, who was in his first season with the Chatham Maroons was named the team’s Most Improved Player.

Blake Blondeel was the senior MVP. He will also be graduating from the Chatham Maroons this season. Wallaceburg’s Ben Pataki (post-secondary school) and Eric Palazzolo (secondary school) won the academic achievement awards, while Trevor Richardson was the top Maroons graduate from Chatham Minor Hockey .

Share This


Wordpress (0)