Wallaceburg Hall of Fame To Honour Major Award Winners

Joel Shepley - Six Nations Arrows - Lacrosse

Wallaceburg’s Joel Shepley will be honoured with the Wallaceburg Sports Hall of Fame’s Outstanding achievement award this year – Photo by Ward Laforme Jr.

The Wallaceburg Sports Hall of Fame will honour their annual major award winners at the induction ceremony and dinner on January 31 at the UAW Hall in Wallaceburg.

Receiving Athlete of the Year honours is Wallaceburg’s Taylor McArthur who compete for the University of Windsor Lancers cross-country and track and field team. McArthur won multiple CIS medals this past year, winning gold in the 4x800m relay, helping his Lancers team break a CIS record. McArthur also plays soccer for the Wallaceburg Sting.

Coach of the Year was Jason Fox. Fox won an OLA Gold Medal with the Wallaceburg Griffins intermediate boys lacrosse team at the ‘C’ level this summer, and also assisted with the intermediate girls team, who won a provincial silver medal.

Builder of the Year was Wallaceburg’s David Gough a long time reporter for the Wallaceburg Courier Press, who focuses on sports and community topics.

The Wallaceburg Sports Hall of Fame’s Outstanding Achievement award goes to lacrosse teammates Jordan Durston and Joel Shepley. The duo split their season between the Wallaceburg Red Devils Junior B lacrosse team, and the Six Nations Arrows Junior A lacrosse team. With Six Nations, both Shepley and Durston helped their team to an Ontario and Canadian championship, winning the Minto Cup.

Each of the above winners will be be honoured at the annual ceremony January 31, 2015.

Share This


Wordpress (0)