LKSSAA Junior Badminton Finals See Local Winners

LKSSAA Badminton

CKSS’ Womens Doubles winners from LKSSAA badminton – Contributed Photo

Athletes from across Chatham-Kent took every division, except one, at the LKSSAA Junior badminton championships Thursday.

Camille Blain of Chatham-Kent Secondary School won the womens singles title, defeating Zoe Vachon of Saint Francois Xavier.

The top 6 in each category will qualify for next week’s SWOSSAA championships. Also moving on from girls singles Diana Lucarelli (3rd, UCC) and Meagan Crow (5th, ESPC).

In mens doubles, ESPC’s Hunter Henderson and Bailey Rolph defeated UCC’s Mitch Lucier and Scott Burm in the final. UCC’s Dakota Vangoethem and Tom Bondy (4th) and JMSS’ Ethan DeNure and Connor O’Donohue (6th) also advances.

CKSS’ Kirby MacKinnon and Maddy Turnbull defeated Wallaceburg’s Kayla Nogueira and Laura Marcus in the womens double final. UCC’s Erica Demartinis and Isabella Demartinis (3rd), and CKSS’ Carly Belanger and Lauren Ross (4th) also qualified for SWOSSAA.

In mixed doubles, ESPC’s Olivia Hunter and Thomas Myers took the championship beating UCC’s Patrick O’Brien and Alisha Ellis in the final. This category saw an all Chatham-Kent contingent moving on to SWOSSAA, with Tate Bowden and Abbey Piatkowski (3rd, UCC), Courtney Legere and Robert Bloomfield (4th, ESPC), Drew Davis and Ashton Van Helden (5th, CKSS), and Abby Bondy and Stefan Borovicanin (6th, CKSS) also advancing.

Finally in mens singles, LCCVI’s Matt Mueller defeated CKSS’ Colin Kloostra in the final. CKSS’ Adrian Stubberfield (3rd), and UCC’s Ethan Vstula (5th) and Anthony Lucarelli (6th) also advanced.

Share This


Wordpress (0)