Chatham Ball Hockey League Wraps Up Season, Champions Crowned

Action from the Chatham Ball Hockey Leagues peewee championship game. The game had to go to a shootout to decide the winner. The Flyers came away with a 7-6 win over the Predators – Photo by Wyatt Williams/ CKSN

The Chatham Ball Hockey League concluded on Tuesday night with a thrilling peewee game, that had to be decided in a shootout.

Karter Koopmans ended it all with a goal in the shootout, to give his Flyers the win and hardware, over the Predators. The game ended regulation tied at 6-6. This forced a shootout, with Koopmans potting the winner. Also scoring for the Flyers was Colin Holmes three goals, singles going to Danny Pasha, Logan Cadotte, and Gary White. The Predators got a pair of goals from Seth Merritt and Owen Cudney, and singles to Adam Gibson and Zachery Chevalier.

​In the peewee consolation game the Wings defeated the Sharks by a score of 11-1. Scoring for the Wings was Kaleb Philips three goals, and pairs going to Jacob Lewis, Tyler Griffith, Keegan Brady, and Aiden Arnold. The Sharks lone goal was scored by Alex McLellan.

In the novice division the championship game was decided by a goal, with the Oiler coming out on top of the Islanders by a score of 4-3. The Oilers star was Brody Hope with a hat trick, and Jaydon Collins had a single. The Islanders got a pair of goals from Cynthia Morgan and Colton VanDusen scored a single.

​The consolation game saw the Stars defeat the Bruins by a 9-1 score. Gabe VanKesteren and Nathan VanKesteren each had a pair of goals, with singles going to Eli Poelman, Matt Douma, Calvin and David VanKesteren.

The bantam/junior division championship game was also a nail bitter. The Tropics would end up defeating the Bruins by a 6-5 score. Scoring a hat trick for the Tropics was Logan Delonge, Rayon Faulker had a pair, and a single for Alec Cunningham. The Bruins had a pair of goals from Nolan Johnson and Nick Delyzer. Drew Marlatt had a single.

Also worth noting, the league introduced a new award, The Fred Hinnegan Memorial Award, which will be given to the player who demonstrates outstanding performance, leadership, and dedication. The first recipient of the award was Kier Cummings. Kier has been a standout player for many seasons, has coached younger teams, and convened a division. The award was made possible by Freds brother Perry, who did this to pay homage to his brother who had played in the league, as a youth.

Share This


Wordpress (0)