Fourth Annual Athletes Fuel Cup Returns Next Week

TJ Brodie Hockey

NHL defenseman TJ Brodie of the Calgary Flames looks to make a move on BCHL forward Lucas Vanroboys while recent OHL grad and USports forward James McEwan looks on at the 2018 Athletes Fuel Cup – Photo by Kelsey Vermeersch/

An opportunity for local hockey fans to see many of the areas top talents returns next week, in the 4th Annual Athletes Fuel Cup.

This year, the event will again feature three teams, but one will have a new captain.

Back are Team Griffith, captained by Winnipeg Jets signee Seth Griffith, who starred with the AHL’s Manitoba Moose last year, and Team Brodie, captained by Calgary Flames defender TJ Brodie.

Replacing Jamie Schaafsma’s Team Schaafsma, will be Team Hope, captained by Kyle Hope. Hope split last season between the University of Windsor Lancers, and the ECHL’s Fort Wayne Comets. He’ll play professionally with the EIHL’s Manchester Storm this season.

Last year, Team Brodie captured the Athletes Fuel Cup, with Brodie being named tournament MVP, and OHL first round draft pick Deni Goure leading the tournament in scoring.

The event opens Monday, July 29 at Thames Campus Arena with Team Brodie playing Team Griffith from 7:30pm to 8:30pm, followed by Team Griffith playing Team Hope from 8:45pm until 9:45pm.

The Athletes Fuel Cup will continue July 31, August 1, August 5, August 7, and August 12, with the semi-finals and championship game being held Wednesday, August 14.

Admission to all games is free of charge.

Share This


Wordpress (0)